On Failure

Bumped into my 6th grade math teacher today. Under her tutelage, I experienced my first ever traumatic academic failure. As in “need special help” status marked on my report card- the lowest possible grade a teacher can give. I really got depressed since I was also forced to quit a musical that i was involved in. I was a bit tempted to tell her that in high school, I rocked algebra, geometry and trigonometry with a series of A’s. Instead, I just gave her a polite hello, a bit of small talk and went on walking. It didnt matter anymore, anyway. Looking back now, I realized she unknowingly taught me an important lesson in life: to never ever let failure define one’s potential and capabilities. And that failures, as with other things in life, lose their significance in time.

Leave a Reply

